Neil Pont

Wildlife Photography

Blog

No flies on me...

Posted on 3 July, 2020 at 7:35

What a miserable week of weather - haven't got beyond the garden - so no birds today.  We are back to little things lurking in the vegetation.

Hoverflies are always around and I spotted something different the other day.  It is a 'bee mimic' fly - Merodon equestris, also known as the Greater Bulb Fly.  It gets its name from the fact that its larvae develop in bulbs - especially daffodils.  I had trouble identifying it from my 'Britain's Hoveflies' book because it is 'polymorphic' and therefore can come in many guises, depending on which bee it is mimicking.  I had to use the UK Hoverflies Facebook page to get an identification (very helpful peole there).



It seems to me that this fly is trying to mimic a Red-tailed Bumblebee:



When you start looking carefully you can see that the bee has longer antennae and the fly has much bigger eyes.


But, it's clever stuff isn't it! The theory is not that they are trying to fool other bees or wasps.  Rather it is 'Batesian mimicry' (as first proposed by the naturalist H.W. Bates).  The theory is that a palatable species evolves colour patterns which imitate the warning signs of a noxious species, directed at a common predator.  In other words, by looking like a stinging and distasteful bee or wasp, a hoverfly gains a degree of protection from predators, even though it is actually perfectly edible.

To some, this chap may look like a wasp:





There are many yellow and black marked hoverflies - this may be Eupeodes luniger (but - there again - it may not be!).

Another creepy crawly we've got few of is the Ladybird larva.  Would never have guessed that such a scary creaure would turn into something so bonny and helpful...



We do see insects around our pond plants; which are growing by the minute. So let's finish with our splendid Yellow Flag Iris...



Categories: 2020

Post a Comment

Oops!

Oops, you forgot something.

Oops!

The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

151 Comments

Reply 653011411219
16:32 on 13 January, 2021 
Reply ¥·¥ã¥Í¥ë¥Ö¥ì¥¹¥ì¥Ã¥È¥³¥Ô©`´úÒý¤­
8:12 on 12 January, 2021 
Eva Injection Maoulding Machine https://www.gtmsmart.com/eva-injection-maoulding-machine/
����?���?` http://www.dietak.hu/cukorbeteg-html/
Reply ¥³¥Ô©`¥Ö¥é¥ó¥É¥Ñ©`¥«©`
18:31 on 10 January, 2021 
Honda https://www.topshineparts.com/honda-sturt-mounts/
�?�����?�??���?`?�?� https://www.monika-martin.at/
Reply 2007 Toyota Camry Key Replacement Supplier
10:27 on 10 January, 2021 
�?������?��?���?` http://vega-squadron.com/squads
China 2007 Toyota Camry Key Replacement https://www.key-locksmith.com/2007-toyota-camry-key-replacement/
Reply 808 Laser Hair Removal
18:51 on 8 January, 2021 
���?���`�?����`���� https://www.zhu555.com/article-a275598.html
808 Laser Hair Removal https://www.haidarilaser.com/808-laser-hair-removal/
Reply ???????????????????
18:03 on 8 January, 2021 
Reply Metal Detector
23:11 on 7 January, 2021 
Reply 25mm Saddle Clamp
20:52 on 7 January, 2021 
�?���?��??����`�?`���?` http://craigslistcc.com/tag/craigslist-oly/
25mm Saddle Clamp https://www.greenplains.net/25mm-saddle-clamp/
Reply Chines Herb Powder
18:17 on 7 January, 2021 
�����?�����`����?` https://www.lacasettabio.it/azienda/laboratorio
Chines Herb Powder https://www.kanwinn-china.com/chines-herb-powder/
Reply ¥Ç¥£¥ª©`¥ë¥Í¥Ã¥¯¥ì¥¹¥³¥Ô©`Æ·
4:26 on 7 January, 2021 
Reply «´«ä?«ëî¯øÖ«³«Ô?
19:51 on 6 January, 2021 
Reply Diesel Wood Crusher
14:30 on 5 January, 2021 
Reply ¥¨¥ë¥á¥¹Ø?²¼?ÎÎï
12:33 on 5 January, 2021 
Victorian Vinyl Flooring https://www.knorubber.com/victorian-vinyl-flooring/
����??�����`�?`���?` https://www.zhu555.com/article-a273659.html
Reply ¥·¥ã¥Í¥ë¥¹¥È©`¥ë¥³¥Ô©`ͨØ?µê
10:28 on 5 January, 2021 
Time Ultrasonic Flaw Detector https://www.testerschina.com/time-ultrasonic-flaw-detector/
������r?���`�?`���?`?�?� https://www.pinterest.jp/bagcopy/celine/
Reply ¶ÄÌüÍøͶ
16:28 on 4 January, 2021 
����?����r?���?`?�?� https://kubanfss.ru/turn?color=3
������� https://www.xcwjc.com/sex/3801/
Reply Å·ÃÀÉü½»A¢õ
14:30 on 4 January, 2021 
�?`�?�`?���`�?`���?` https://www.engineeringnews.co.nz/
�?��� https://www.conduit-flexible.com/sex1940/
Reply ¥¨¥à¥·©`¥¨¥à¥Ð¥Ã¥°¥¹©`¥Ñ©`¥³¥Ô©`¼¤°²
20:01 on 3 January, 2021 
Guangdong Family of Childhood Industrial Co., Ltd. https://www.supplybingo.com/guangdong-family-of-childhood-industr
ial-co-ltd/
����?�?���?` https://www.piedralaves.es/galeria/imagenes/fotos-antiguas-de-pie
dralaves
Reply ¥Ö¥é¥ó¥Éñ×Ó?ÎÎï
16:24 on 3 January, 2021 
Reply ¥»¥ê©`¥Ì¥µ¥ó¥°¥é¥¹?ÎÎï
10:11 on 3 January, 2021 
Reply 100 Cotton Shirts
6:27 on 3 January, 2021 
����r?���?`?�?� https://www.golfleselect.com/fr/tarif
100 Cotton Shirts https://www.softshell-clothing.com/100-cotton-shirts/